top of page
AuthorPhoto-RebeccaCarvalho-HiRes_edited.jpg

REBECCA CARVALHO

Home: Welcome

Rebecca Carvalho is a Recifense writer based in Berkeley, California. She loves crafting stories filled with close-knit neighborhoods, Brazilian food, and telenovela-esque settings. When she is not writing, you can find her with her camera, gaming with her husband, or watching Star Trek for the hundredth time. Rebecca has a bachelor’s degree in English from Lawrence University. Salt and Sugar is her debut novel, and it was inspired by her life in northeastern Brazil.

FI3AYMEUUAEmdzB.jpeg
Home: About

SALT AND SUGAR

Out now!

The grandchildren of two rival Brazilian bakeries fall in love despite their families’ feud in this delicious debut rom-com perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Gloria Chao.

Trust neither thin-bottomed frying pans nor Molinas.

Lari Ramires has always known this to be true. In Olinda, Brazil, her family’s bakery, Salt, has been at war with the Molinas’ bakery across the street, Sugar, for generations. But Lari’s world turns upside down when her beloved grandmother passes away. On top of that, a big supermarket chain has moved to town, forcing many of the small businesses to close.

Determined to protect her home, Lari does the unthinkable—she works together with Pedro Molina to save both of their bakeries. Lari realizes she might not know Pedro as well as she thought—and she maybe even likes what she learns—but the question remains: Can a Ramires and a Molina truly trust one another?

9781335454331_SHC_smp.jpg
Home: Latest Work
capadesaleacucar.jpeg

SAL E AÇÚCAR

Nunca confie num Molina nem em frigideira de base fina.

Para Lari Ramires isso sempre foi um lema. A padaria da sua família, Sal, vive em pé de guerra há gerações com a padaria dos Molina, Açúcar. Seja espalhando boatos, tretando em competições culinárias ou trocando ofensas aos gritos pelas ruas de Olinda, para ambas as famílias, a vingança é um prato que se come quente, seja ele doce ou salgado. Mas quando a avó de Lari morre, a vida e o sustento da família ficam seriamente ameaçados. E para piorar a situação, uma grande rede de supermercados chegou à cidade, forçando muitos comerciantes locais a fecharem as portas.

Inexperiente na cozinha, Lari está disposta a fazer o que for preciso para salvar o seu legado, até mesmo o inimaginável: se unir a Pedro Molina. O rapaz é arrogante, convencido e... presidente de um projeto de caridade que cozinha para crianças? Ela percebe que pode não conhecê-lo tão bem quanto imaginava, e que saber mais sobre o rapaz da família rival pode não ser tão apocalíptico assim. Mas a grande questão é: uma Ramires e um Molina podem realmente confiar um no outro?

Publicado originalmente nos Estados Unidos, Sal e Açúcar é uma comédia romântica inesquecível repleta de representatividade nordestina que promete deixar aquele quentinho no coração dos leitores.

Home: Latest Work

NEWS, ARTICLES, INTERVIEWS

July 14, 2022

July 6, 2022

June 23, 2022

March 23, 2022

January 13, 2022

August 29, 2021

Kirkus Reviews gave SALT AND SUGAR a star! Read the full review here!

SALT AND SUGAR is a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection!

Home: List

Subscribe for updates!

REBECCA CARVALHO'S NEWSLETTER

Subscribing to my newsletter is the best way to hear more news from me about my current books and future projects, promos, live and online events, and to find out what I'm up to these days. :)

Home: HTML Embed

CONTACT

Rebecca is represented by Thao Le at Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency

Thanks for submitting!

Home: Contact
bottom of page