AuthorPhoto-RebeccaCarvalho-HiRes_edited.jpg

REBECCA CARVALHO

Writer

 

Rebecca Carvalho is a Recifense writer based in Berkeley, California. She loves crafting stories filled with close-knit neighborhoods, Brazilian food, and telenovela-esque settings. When she is not writing, you can find her with her camera, gaming with her husband, or watching Star Trek for the hundredth time. Rebecca has a bachelor’s degree in English from Lawrence University. Salt and Sugar is her debut novel, and it was inspired by her life in northeastern Brazil.

FI3AYMEUUAEmdzB.jpeg
 

SALT AND SUGAR

Out November 1, 2022

The grandchildren of two rival Brazilian bakeries fall in love despite their families’ feud in this delicious debut rom-com perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Gloria Chao.

Trust neither thin-bottomed frying pans nor Molinas.

Lari Ramires has always known this to be true. In Olinda, Brazil, her family’s bakery, Salt, has been at war with the Molinas’ bakery across the street, Sugar, for generations. But Lari’s world turns upside down when her beloved grandmother passes away. On top of that, a big supermarket chain has moved to town, forcing many of the small businesses to close.

Determined to protect her home, Lari does the unthinkable—she works together with Pedro Molina to save both of their bakeries. Lari realizes she might not know Pedro as well as she thought—and she maybe even likes what she learns—but the question remains: Can a Ramires and a Molina truly trust one another?

9781335454331_SHC_smp.jpg
 
11390249_10153442133206554_3945641716128536633_n.jpg

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR

SALT AND SUGAR ARCS?

If you're a reviewer and you'd love to read a digital ARC of Salt and Sugar, you can request it on NetGalley and Edelweiss. Links below.

Are you a librarian, educator, book blogger and you missed a giveaway? NetGalley and Edelweiss rejected your request? Feel free to reach out via the contact form below!


 

NEWS, ARTICLES, INTERVIEWS

July 14, 2022

July 6, 2022

June 23, 2022

March 23, 2022

January 13, 2022

August 29, 2021

SALT AND SUGAR is going to Brazil in 2023! Salt and Sugar vai ser traduzido para o Português e lançado pela Galera Record em 2023!

Kirkus Reviews gave SALT AND SUGAR a star! Read the full review here!

SALT AND SUGAR is a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection!

 

CONTACT

Rebecca is represented by Thao Le at Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency

Thanks for submitting!